Interplastic Corp. senior vice president Bob DeRoma, has announced the 2010 recipients of the Scholars Award sponsored by Interplastic Corp. in affiliation with the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA).

The five high school graduates and their company affiliations are: Elizabeth

Browning, Kingsport, Tennessee (Eastman Chemical Co.); Jennifer Hu, Huntington Beach, Calif. (Performance Composites Inc.); Michael Stolle, The Woodlands, Texas (Huntsman Corp.); Sindhu Subramanian, The Woodlands, Texas (Huntsman Corp.); Niles Wimber, McDonough, Ga., (Orenco Systems Inc.).

Each winner receives $2,000 to be used toward their studies at a four-year college or university of their choice. This is the 10th year Interplastic Corp. has awarded the scholarships.

“We are proud to sponsor this program and believe it’s a tremendous way for our company to increase student awareness of composites,” said Bob DeRoma. “These young adults go above and beyond obtaining outstanding academic grades. They are involved in charitable works, active in their communities and set excellent examples for others to follow.”

To be eligible for a Scholars Award, the applicant’s parents, legal guardian, or the student must be employed by an ACMA-member company and the student must be planning to attend an accredited four-year college or university. The selection of the Scholars winners is based on the individual’s personal merit and background, with an emphasis on excellence in academic and extracurricular activities. The scholarships must be used for tuition and/or required books, supplies and equipment.

Please check Interplastic Corp.s website ( for information regarding the 2011 Scholars Awards.

Interplastic Corp. is a specialty chemical company with its headquarters in St. Paul, Minn. Its Thermoset Resins Division focuses on the production and distribution of unsaturated polyester, vinyl ester resins, gel coats, and colorants for the composites and cast polymer industries.

See Discussion, Leave A Comment