Bill Shook

Trenchless Technology magazine is pleased to today announce the recipient of its 2018 Trenchless Technology Person of the Year: Bill Shook, an industry professional who has dedicated his 40-plus year career to the trenchless rehabilitation industry.


// ** Advertisement ** //

“This honor is more than well deserved for a true pioneer in manhole and pipe rehabilitation and the trenchless industry,” says Trenchless Technology editor Jim Rush. “Bill has the utmost respect of his peers and this award is a long time coming for his career. He is the perfect choice for our 2018 Trenchless Technology Person of the Year.”

RELATED: More Than Manholes: AP/M Permaform Grows into Trenchless Solutions Provider

// ** Advertisement ** //

Shook was notified of his selection on Monday and was genuinely moved with the news. “It’s been a pleasure to be involved in this industry for the last 40 years and it’s been exciting to see the changes, as well,” he says. “I am greatly pleased to receive this honor.”

Shook is president and founder of AP/M PERMAFORM, a worldwide provider of technologies, products and equipment for trenchless renewal and corrosion protection with headquarters in Johnston, Iowa. One of the pioneers of trenchless rehabilitation, Shook has been a tireless promoter of the industry ever since. Working as an owner of a water and sewer supply business who dealt with engineers and contractors in the digging business, Shook realized the value of replacing old lines and manholes without digging. Shook and his company exhibited at the ISTT No-Dig Show in 1991 in Washington, D.C., and has been a regular on the trenchless circuit ever since.

// ** Advertisement ** //

Under Shook’s leadership, the company has developed several products for the wastewater industry, beginning in 1985 with the introduction of the Permaform system for replacing manholes. Later products addressed non-structural solutions for sealing and microbially protection, as well as sewer applications.

He is a past president of the National Association of Sewer Service Companies (NASSCO) and serves on the Board of Directors of the Buried Asset Management Institute-International and the Midwest Society of Trenchless Technology. He is an active member of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Water Works Association (AWWA), the Water Environmental Federation (WEF), National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE) and International Concrete Restoration Institute (ICRI).

// ** Advertisement ** //

Shook will be formally recognized for this highly prestigious honor Monday, March 26, at NASTT’s 2018 No-Dig Show Kick-Off Breakfast at the Palm Springs Convention Center in Palm Springs, California. He will be presented the award by Trenchless Technology publisher Bernard P. Krzys.

About the Award

The Trenchless Technology Person of the Year has been awarded annually since 1993 to individuals representing significant recent achievement and lifetime achievement, and who have exhibited outstanding leadership in the advancement of trenchless technology. It is determined by a selection committee comprised of industry professionals.