Global Trenchless Industry Gathers at 2017 NASTT No-Dig Show: Day Two Recap

The 2017 NASTT No-Dig Show was busy, busy, busy on Day 2 at the Gaylord National Convention Center in Washington, D.C., starting with its technical sessions in the morning and ending with its Hall of Fame inductions during the Gala Dinner. Attendance is projected to be well over 2,200 so far, with its final day under way.

At the Gala Dinner, NASTT welcomed its sixth Hall of Fame class: the late Joe Abbott Jr. of Godwin Pumps, Dr. Tom Iseley, who established the industry, academic and government cooperative research center known as the Trenchless Technology Center, and the late Rod Sutliff, founder of R.S. Technical Services and a pioneer in the CCTV industry.

ICYMI: Read the 2017 NASTT No-Dig Show Recap

The NASTT Board of Directors created the Hall of Fame in 2010, to ensure that the society’s most outstanding and praiseworthy members received due recognition. The intent of the NASTT Hall of Fame is to preserve the outstanding accomplishments of exceptional individuals and to honor their contributions to the advancement of both the trenchless industry and the society.

Also receiving recognition at the Gala Dinner were recipients of the Trent Ralston Award for Young Trenchless Achievement (Amana Arayan, LMK Technologies, and Christopher Larson, C&L Underground) and NASTT Chair Award for Lifetime Service award honoree Jim Rankin of Vermeer (who was earlier honored by Trenchless Technology as its Person of the Year).

The NASTT No-Dig Show is known for its exceptional technical sessions, as well as its jam-packed exhibit hall. It is also a known as the place to unveil the latest technologies that continue to push the industry forward. NASTT’s honors the best new and innovative products each year with its Joseph L. Abbott Jr. Innovative Product Awards, recognizing companies with state-of-the-art products in either new installation or rehabilitation for their achievements in advancing the trenchless industry.

The Innovative Product Awards were handed out for the top technology in the industry Tuesday afternoon. Ditch Witch received the Innovative Product Award for New Installation for its Next Generation JT40 HDD rig.

RELATED: Ditch Witch Adds All-New JT40 HDD to its Fleet

There were two winners for the Innovative Product Award for Rehabilitation. Receiving this honor were HEBNA Corp. for its iMFL, a series of advanced magnetic flux leakage tools that can inspect ferrous pipes through non-ferrous liner, and Deep Trekker for its DT340 Pipe Crawler, the world’s only remotely operated, battery powered crawler system. All three companies were recognized at the Gala Dinner.

RELATED: Deep Trekker Launches Submersible, Battery Powered Pipe Crawler

Today is the final day for the 2017 No-Dig Show, featuring Gas Industry Day,  which features a full day of education and networking for the gas industry through an array of technical sessions. Exhibit halls hours are 10 am to 12:30 p.m. The conferences concludes with its annual Closing Luncheon, which gives attendees a preview of the 2018 No-Dig Show in Palm Springs, Calif.

Stay abreast of NASTT’s 2017 No-Dig Show by following @TrenchlessTech, @WFM_Journal and @NoDigShow on Twitter. Or you can download the official (and free) No-Dig mobile app on either your iPhone or Android phone. And if you are sharing your 2017 No-Dig Show experiences in the social media world be sure to use the #NoDigDC2017 hashtag.

// ** Advertisement ** //