Dr. Sam ASU Received ASCE Awards

Dr. Sam Ariaratnam Receives ASCE’s Wellington Prize, Fellow Status

Dr. Sam ASU Received ASCE Awards

Dr. Sam Ariaratnam received a pair of prestigious awards from the ASCE.

Dr. Samuel Ariaratnam, Ph.D., P.E., P.Eng. recently received a pair of honors from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).

In September, Ariaratnam, Arizona State University (ASU) professor and chair of the construction engineering program in the School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment,was elected to the distinguished rank of Fellow of the ASCE. The organization bestows the honor to recognize members who “have made celebrated contributions and developed creative solutions that change lives around the world.”

RELATED: Carpenter Appointed to New ASCE Institute Board of Governors

Then in October, Ariaratnam received ASCE’s 2015 Arthur M. Wellington Prize for his paper, “Quantification of a Sustainability Index for Underground Utility Infrastructure Projects.” The paper was published in the ASCE Journal of Construction Engineering & Management in December 2013.

Each year, ASCE gives out the prestigious award to the author(s) of a paper on land, water or air transportation, or other related subjects. The Wellington Prize is among ASCE’s oldest and most prestigious awards.

Ariaratnam co-authored the paper with Kalyan Piratla, a former ASU doctoral student and current assistant professor at Clemson University, Aaron Cohen, the Associated General Contractors Lecturer at ASU, and Matthew Olson, a former master’s student at ASU currently a Project Engineer at Staheli Trenchless Engineering in Seattle.

Ariaratnam is currently on the Executive Committee of the ASCE Pipelines Division. He has published more than 200 technical papers and holds four patents. He is a registered professional engineer in Arizona and Ontario, Canada, and a leading expert in the trenchless technology method of underground construction. He was named the 2012 Trenchless Technology Person of the Year by Trenchless Technology magazine, the leading North American publication in the field.

RELATED: 2012 Trenchless Technology Person of the Year: Dr. Sam Ariaratnam
// ** Advertisement ** //