yasin torun

2015 No-Dig Istanbul Deemed a Great Success

yasin torun

TSITT chairman Yasin Torun opens the 2015 International No-Dig Conference in Istanbul.

The International Society for Trenchless Technology (ISTT) and Turkish Society for Infrastructure and Trenchless Technology (TSITT) jointly held 33rd International No-Dig Conference and Exhibition Sept. 28-30 in Istanbul, Turkey, with a great success.

The opening ceremony started on Sept. 28 with the welcoming speech of TSITT chairman Yasin Torun. Afterward, Prof. Jens Hoelterhoff, chairman of the German Society for Trenchless Technology (GSTT), Derek Choi ISTT chairman, Khaldon Khashman, secretary general of ACWUA, Christine von Lonski, general manager of GWP, Lokman Cagirici, mayor of Bagcilar/deputy chairman of UMM, and Prof. Dr. Cumali Kinaci, general manager of GDWM, made their opening speeches.

The conference and exhibition attracted 94 companies from 21 different countries, with 910 visitors representing 50 different countries visiting their booths during the three-day event. Surprise shows and a welcome party in the exhibition area entertained all exhibitors and visitors.

For the technical sessions, 51 papers were presented in the 14 separate sessions of the conference, with 149 delegates from 31 different countries taking in the presentations.

istanbul nodig new install winner

EKOL Yapi Insaat Ltd. received the No-Dig Award for New Installation Project of the Year.

On Sept. 29, a wonderful gala dinner was held with 152 participants from 23 different countries taking part. The dinner started with the fascinating show of Whirling Dervishes – all participants were completely impressed by the ceaseless efforts of the Dervishes. Soon after, the Zeybek show – a special dance in which performers simulated hawks with a romantic song about their bravery – began. Following these two shows, the award ceremonies of ISTT and TSITT commenced.

During the ISTT ceremony, the Australian Drilling Industry Training Committee (ADITC) received the Academic/Training Award. ADITC is a not-for-profit organization that promotes good training and learning practices in the drilling industry. IMS Robotics GmbH received the New Product Award for its MICRO Satellite System/Sewer to Lateral Robot, which accesses the lateral or service connection from the main sewer line where it performs lateral rehabilitation – cutting, cleaning, and inspection.

EKOL Yapi Insaat Ltd received New Installation Project Award for its HDD installation of a large diameter pipeline in Instanbul. The project involved installation of a install a 36-in. steel natural gas pipe under several transportation corridors along the alignment of the pipeline.

istanbul nodig rehab winner

Stroitelna Mehaniztsia received the Rehabilitation Project of the Year Award for its large diameter project using CIPP in Zhezkazgan, Bulgaria.

Stroitelna Mehaniztsia received Rehabilitation Project Award for its large diameter rehabilitation project using CIPP in Zhezkazgan, Bulgaria. The project involved one of two parallel pipelines for discharge cooling water from the turbines of the electric generators were rehabbed using CIPP). The steel pipelines diameters range from 1,220 to 2,220 mm. The different pipe diameters are connected with short taper sections. The pipelines operate both as a gravity sewer (half full) and a pressure line depending on the operation of the turbines

Dr. Tsung-Shen Liao and Michel Mermet received Lifetime Service Awards. Finally, Founder and honorary director of the South African Society for Trenchless Technology (SASTT) Joop van Wamelen, who passed away in February, was remembered.

During the TSITT ceremony, Prof. Dr. Hanifi Copur has received Academic/Training Award. Tekyon Tunel and E-Berk Tunel received New Product Awards. Prof. Dr. Fevzi Yilmaz received Lifetime Service Award.

To read more about these award winners, click here

See Discussion, Leave A Comment